Becomming a Professional Engineer (P. Eng)

edited 07/31/2011 @ 8:20:10 PM in General Discussion

Comments

• I spent the time I would have spent in school, traveling and improving my personality by having experiences that would interest other people. I got sick of studying irrelevant information and taking tests. So, instead of taking that last German course (which was what all engineers, back then, were required to learn) to complete my Bachelors in Physics, I moved to California. Then, I walked into a place that I read about in an Audio Engineering Society magazine. I asked the secretary if they had any openings. She said definitely,"No." But, by some chance, the president of the company saw me there and hired me on the spot. I was a technician and learned the art of designing circuits by working with a pretty clever engineer - Ron Ellis. He later changed careers and won an Oscar for best independent short movie. But, I digress.
    It turned out (for me) that I would always find a good paying job, for a while, by listing with job placement services as a contract technician. As a job got funded by some political money, the contracts were put out and the head-hunters would fill them by putting ads in the paper. This was the late 70's and 80's. I could actually do the jobs. So, I was always offered a full-time position after the 3 month contract was over. Sometimes I'd take the regular job. Most of the time, I'd go travel and spend the money I had just earned in India or China for a year or so.