Happiness is...

Comments

• Wireless has made my CAT-5 cables thru the house useless. Cellphones are making telephone cables obsolete. SCSI cables? Why keep them? 75 ohm Video cables with the crimp connectors, 300 ohm TV antenna cable, same thing for all of that.

I've got a couple of glass bell jars filled with banana jacks, stainless UHF converters from 75 ohm coax to 52 ohm coax connectors, etc. Maybe someone on ebay would buy the cables by the box load for a few bucks. Everything I used to do as a tech is old hat. As an engineer I learned circuit design. That's probably still happening. But, the clock rates on most PCBs are in the Ghz. The connecting lines between chips are in nanometers. It's certainly a new ballgame and you have to learn the software program to get the transistor array wired right.

My son will be studying Materials Engineering at college next year. Maybe he'll find the magic ingredient missing in rechargeable, cheap, batteries. It's about nanotechnology, chemistry and biology - I'll be watching him struggle. Time changes it all in a matter of months.

I still have a few thousand feet of #12 solid wire that would have made a rhombic ham antenna. I liked building all of that. I won't be doing it anymore because ham radio is also obsolete. Internet gets you connected with anyone via email or skype.

I saw a 6 foot HDMI cable for $49 at Target.

Have you noticed what an over the counter allergy drug like Claritin costs today?

I think there are some greedy companies out there.

Progress comes at a price to all of us - or is it the free market?
  • edited 12/18/2012 @ 6:02:06 PM