I want me one o' dese

2»

Comments

• edited 12/31/2010 @ 6:09:17 AM
    OK, don't get all wierded out. (You're pretty quick at jumping back without info yourself - something about cajones.) It is based on my INFORMED analysis. I'm aware of the fact that it's solid state circuitry, having a potentiometer fan speed control, just like most computer power supplies. It is a clear cut circuit used for bling - nothing else.

What I'm telling you is based on the fact that I'm a retired electronics engineer. I've designed quite a few power supplies being used today in satellites constructed at UCBerkeley.
    I'm not just giving you some bull carp. I know what I'm talking about in this arena. I worked 18 years, off and on, as a rocket scientist at Space Sciences Lab at UCBerkeley.

Oh yeah, duct tape would solve this major dilemna very well.
  • edited 01/01/2011 @ 5:14:23 AM
    Hey iggy8n, it appears we share many things in common from the past... car engine mods, music, electronics. When I was in high school, one of my hobbies was electronics... specifically assembling AC/DC Converters (I still know the diagram for both half and full wave rectifiers), AM/FM tuners, amplifiers, etc. This hobby came to be as I was into music and could barely afford to buy the Kenwoods, Sansui's, Pioneers (Magnavox and Zenith were already on the decline at the time) of the day so I did the next best thing... build my own. I even learned to etch the circuit for pre and power amps on PCBs using masking tape on the board (or a marker) and ferric-chloride solution. I am still hoping I did not do any lasting damage from inhaling all those fumes from the solution and the soldering lead which I later found out were not good for you.
    Post edited 01/01/2011 @ 5:14:23 AM by cyclo
  • Anyone build Heathkits?
  • I built the CR-1 crystal radio.
  • edited 01/02/2011 @ 8:31:26 AM